Bigger

A friend of mine got me a pretty amazing Christmas gift this year: it is a cute little box for my desk that has a couple hundred inspiring quotes that are interchangeable at will. This is the one I have in place now:

“…There is no such thing in anyone’s life as an unimportant day.” Alexander Woollcott

This quote has been sitting on my desk for days and has been a huge help in keeping my perspective in the right place. The day I changed it to this was a very blah kind of day. Work was fine, but I didn’t end as strong as I would have liked. A few things were left on my to-do list, and my desk was a disaster. But my mental energy was sapped and when 5 o’clock came around I had to shut my computer down and clock out. I grabbed that little box of quotes and put this one in place as soon as I found it.

The rest of the night I just felt low. You know what I mean? It wasn’t a day of laughter and excitement – it was just a day that happened. My husband and I went to Target to get their Pizza Hut Pizza and pick up a few things, but I just couldn’t perk up. We talked about his day and other things going on in our lives, but I still just felt low. But these words kept blaring through my mind: there is no such thing as an unimportant day. There is no such thing as an unimportant day. There is no such thing…..

It grounded me. It anchored me to a bigger hope. If I would have felt like this the day before I would have gotten depressed and wondered if life will ever be good. My low would have gone low, if you know what I mean. But instead, I was able to keep my wits about me and tell myself that it’s not a bad day. It’s not a meaningless day. I’m just a little more tired than normal and that’s okay. Even today is important.

I can tell you that the rest of the day did not magically become amazing, but I was able to smile and laugh with my husband and appreciate my life.

You might not do anything extravagant today, but you are alive, rubbing shoulders with people, breathing in the beautiful air of life. I’m learning that the events of our day take on a different tone when we begin to live each day with expectancy.

Leave a Reply

