Stress took its toll, but did not win that night.

When I get stressed, I literally cannot take deep breaths. My heart rate goes up, and I just can’t get that air down to the toes of my lungs. I can breathe, but those breaths are shallow – useful only in keeping me alive. They aren’t the penetrating, calming gulps of air that send life throughout your entire body.

This happened to me the other night. The stress of work was mounting, and it was all IMG_3813I could do to remain calm. I sat on the floor and put my head in my hands- simply concentrating on my breath. As I was trying to think straight and figure out how to make it to the next moment, my little pup walked briskly over to hop up on my lap. I looked up and smiled. Then, the big one slid off the couch and used her large, strong muzzle to force her way under my arm. I was covered in fur. My husband and I laughed at the scene that just payed out, and I marveled at how much of a gift from God these animals are.

It astounds me how much of Gods creation is meant for our enjoyment. I’m so thankful He gave dogs to protect us, help us hunt, and simply comfort us. Our God is wonderful, and it’s these little reminders that place my eyes back on the big picture so I can focus on all that is good.

Stress took its toll, but did not win that night. The Lord saw me in my distress, and comforted me.

My Lord, you are all around me. Your creation is proof of it. As I’m cuddled by these magnificent beasts, I will look up to you with joy. My heart will return to peace, and air will once again revive every cell of my body.  

The heavens proclaim the glory of God. The skies display his craftsmanship. Day after day they continue to speak; night after night they make him known. They speak without a sound or word; their voice is never heard. Yet their message has gone throughout the earth, and their words to all the world.
Psalm 19:1-4 NLT

Follow me on Facebook and Twitter

Leave a Reply

