All other ground is sinking sand

…It took almost losing a dear cousin of mine to realize just how little the world and its ladders matter in the grand scheme of things…

In an attempt to become professional, put on a good face, and please the right people, we often lose the very reason, heart, and passion behind why we love what we do. Why is it so easy for us to get caught up in the process of “making it big”? Why do we continually strive to climb the ladder?

As a writer, I keep believing I need to allow myself to be pulled in the direction of making connections and writing what people want to hear – which means that the majority of the time my heart isn’t even in it. I’m spewing out words so that my post will “do well”. What does that even mean? The world’s version of doing well, and the Lords version of doing well are not the same. And they are not achieved at all in the same way. One is through self promotion, striving, planning, and marketing. The other is through abiding, waiting, praying and obedience.

It took almost losing a dear cousin of mine to realize just how little the world and its ladders meant to me. I was faced with a very real probability that I’d be ending the day saying goodbye to one of the sweetest people on this planet – a sweet woman that has been so key in making me feel at home in my husbands extended family. As I saw her in the ER, still on the gurney, I was overwhelmed with this need to pull her up out of the bed, hug her close and not let go. Instead, I had to settle for sharing her attention with my siblings and giving her a quick hug, a kiss on the forehead, and a prayer that she’d continue to heal.

On the way home, through long talks with my husband and tears for what I had almost lost, I gained a sense of clarity. That morning I had woken up with this old hymn in my head,

On Christ the solid Rock I stand,
All other ground is sinking sand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

I had no idea how that would echo into the rest of the day and evening. By night, the song only continued –

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness.
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly trust in Jesus’ Name.

When darkness seems to hide His face,
I rest on His unchanging grace.
In every high and stormy gale,
My anchor holds within the veil.

I’ve been a “Christian” all my life, meaning that I’ve been brought up in the church culture and have been taught the theology and reasons behind the belief. But only in the past few years has God, my Lord, become 3D to me. When faced with losing someone I love so dearly, He gave me such a clear picture that this life is not all there is. And through every crisis that I have yet to face in this life, I get to walk with my Lord and see the miracles he’ll do. Pain, sorrow, and trials are guaranteed. But what is not set in stone is how closely I walk with my Lord and how much allow him to wow me.

When He shall come with trumpet sound,IMG_1359
Oh may I then in Him be found.
Dressed in His righteousness alone,
Faultless to stand before the throne.

On Christ the solid Rock I stand,
All other ground is sinking sand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

My career as a writer will not be one that aims to please the masses to get ahead, but to speak of the miracles he has done, and is yet to do.

 (My hope is built, by Edward Mote)

Follow me on Facebook and Twitter

One thought on “All other ground is sinking sand

Leave a Reply

