Don’t put something on the back burner that actually keeps you sane, gives you life, and helps you to be a person that knows and reflects the Lord.

Every time I sit down to pray or write, I cannot get the concept of balance out of my head. It seems to be a never ending quest of mine, because I’ve realized its value and importance. Hard as I may try,  I can’t do it all when I’m exhausted. I can’t even do part of it well. I can’t love my husband, my family, my friends or myself in the way that is needed most. I become mindless, unable to listen to God’s leading, because all I can think on the next thing. I just have to make it through to the next thing.

Somehow this month went from wide open, with only a couple things on the calendar, to packed to the brim. If there isn’t work, there’s something else. And during this time my desire for balance isn’t just a nice thought, it’s becoming a desperate need – a necessity for basic function. It’s come to the point where a re-charge on the weekend isn’t enough. Nor is it possible. Weekends are my busiest days. No, a re-charge and normalcy is needed every single day of the week.

How is that even possible?

My husband and I took a long walk together and talked in depth about our priorities and current commitments.  We realized there were some things we had to cut from our schedule. These were good things, but in light of what was going on around us, it ended up being too much on our plates. If we were going to walk this season well, we needed to make some changes.

We decided to use this freed up time in our week to allow for some balance in our lives. I’m a firm believer that the little things matter, and that includes my home life. We are going for a walk every night now. Talking and dreaming together. I have time to clean my house and do the laundry. I have time to cook, something I love to do but becomes impossible if I can’t clean my kitchen to do so. We’re getting to bed at a decent hour so our mornings doesn’t have to be a mad dash out the door. We have evenings where we have nothing planned, and we can be spontaneous. One night we cooked dinner for some friends. Another night we biked to Caribou Coffee. Another night we cleaned. And another night we played video games and went to bed.

The biggest thing, and I cannot stress this enough, is that we are both now spending time with the Lord. Luke recently told me that a few years ago his most earnest prayer was that we would get to a point where we literally could not function without setting Him first in our lives. I am so thankful to say that is coming to pass. Without spending time in prayer and in His Word, I lose sight of what’s really important in life – the bigger picture. The simpler picture. It’s not about what we do, but who we are and how we love.

Life is always going to have crisis, work, family, friends, church, and many other opportunities to fill our schedule with. Good opportunities! But we can’t expect to do them all at once. We can’t expect ourselves to do them without some balance. We need to put others before ourselves. We need to do things we do not enjoy, but not by throwing the baby out with the bathwater.

IMG_2731Does your life seem like it’s out of control? Like your schedule is ruling you and you feel like you don’t have a choice in the matter? Spend some time assigning what your priorities are, cut out what does not line up, and make time for the replenishment that keeps you close to the Lord.   Don’t put something on the back burner that actually keeps you sane, gives you life, and helps you to be a person that knows and reflects the love of God.

Follow me on Facebook and Twitter

4 thoughts on “Don’t put something on the back burner that actually keeps you sane, gives you life, and helps you to be a person that knows and reflects the Lord.

  1. I love this, Kristen! And I love how you continually write from your heart and what God speaks to you and invite others through that :)
    I have found over and over again that when God is my priority that everything else falls into place! My schedule is jam packed every minute- but my time with God in the mornings is a MUST and He carries me through :)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

