For when your life feels too heavy. 

Life feels so much lighter and happier when I’m listening to folk music. You know how there are quizzes to find out your Disney personality or spirit animal? I’m pretty sure my inner music personality is folk. Is there a way to write like a folk song? That would be awesome. A folk song is lively, earthy, and reminds me to have a simpler outlook on life. It’s much more rural and much less city. It reminds me of the importance of having a small, close-knit community, and that the simplest things in life are really the most important.  

I take life too seriously. I really do. I don’t live to the fullest, except for these few rare moments.  I need to come alive. They say that confession is the first step to healing, right? The second step for me is apparently folk music. Seriously, take a second and find a few songs by Judah and The Lion and maybe you’ll see what I mean. I fully realize that this may not be your cup of tea, but at least you’ll enter my world for a little bit. Who doesn’t want that?

I bet step three has something to do with putting time into my dreams. I saw a quote once by Rebekah Lyons: Calling is when your talents and your burdens collide. I believe that writing to encourage people to live with and for God is exactly that for me. Have you ever heard someone say, “Follow me as I follow Christ.”? With my writing, I’d rather journey alongside you. I’m fallen. I’m not all-wise. So, I’d rather we both be chasing after God together – learning his ways, reading his word, and helping each other out along the way. Because there will be times when I need your help. 

Yes, that is a good step three – for when I am encouraging others in their faith, I truly come alive. This is what I need to make more room for in my life: time to study, to write, and to be with my community. Then maybe, just maybe, I’ll write like a folk song and my life will feel less like a burden, and more like a summer Saturday afternoon.  

What burdens your heart but also makes you come alive? What steps can you take? We’re all different for a reason – we all have different stregths and can offer hope and life in a variety of ways. Find yours and put some effort into it. Not only will you benefit, but so will the people you daily rub shoulders with. 

Now let’s go do something fun. 


Leave a Reply

