First draft: thoughts and ideas for the new writer

I started writing in a very organic way. My husband and I were moving out of state, and a friend suggested I start a blog to keep everyone up to date on our lives. His suggested title for this blog was “The not-so-secret-anymore life of Krissy-ten”. Yes, I used that title. I wrote when we had updates, and eventually started writing more personal journal-style posts.photo-1

I fell in love with writing. All this then morphed into Passion-Refresh-Calm, with the goal being to write from and about such topics on a regular basis. Now, I am trying to find my voice and niche in the writing community. It’s okay that it’s taking a while. I am learning to appreciate the time I have to discover what’s sustainable for me. It’s been close to four years, and I’m only getting more excited about the future possibilities.

What kind of writer do you want to be? An author, blogger, freelance writer, or other? I think it’s important to determine your end goal, and then figure out steps to get you there. For myself, my goal is to be a freelance writer/contributor. I’d love to contribute for websites like (in)courage, Relevant Magazine, and maybe even Focus on the Family etc. Steps I’ve laid out for myself are: 1) read books on how to better my craft, 2) write every day, 3) find out their submission guidelines, and give it a go! I may not get in on my first submission…or my 2nd, 3rd, or 100th…but I’ll never know if I don’t try. What have I really got to lose? The worst that can happen to me is they’ll tell me it’s not a good fit. I can live with that.

Another thing I need to do is get to a writer’s conference. They’re expensive, so I haven’t been to one yet, but I know they are an amazing place to network and learn! If you have that opportunity, jump on it.

No matter what your end goals is, keep writing. Writers write. One of the books I’ve started to read is called Writing Habit Mastery – How to Write 2,000 Words a Day and Forever Cure Writer’s Block by S.J. Scott. Pretty bold title, no? Well, so far I am loving it, and it was only $0.99 for kindle on Amazon. This book has helped me begin to develop a discipline of writing daily, and I am already seeing the benefits of it.

As I mentioned briefly above, try to make it a priority to read. I’ve found that this is one of the most beneficial things you can do as a writer. It gets the creative juices flowing. You are able to observe other people’s styles and ways of communicating. For some people, like myself, reading is also simply a good time! I love reading sci-fi and fantasy novels in my free time, and I also like books on how to further progress in my writing craft. All of these are helpful.

Overall, if you’re still mustering up the courage to start – just start. Writing is a creative process, so please don’t be intimidated. Take the time to find your own way, set goals and take risks!

To end, I’d like to once again share one of my new favorite quotes by Ernest Hemingway, “We are all apprentices in a craft where no one ever becomes a master.”

Cheers

Leave a Reply

