First draft: intro

I’m starting a new section of my blog this week called First draft. These will be articles specifically aimed at the audience of my fellow writers: beginners, regular writers and beyond. I have a passion for writing and mentoring, and what better way to couple the two together? I chose to call it First draft because even though it’s always the messiest part of writing, you couldn’t get to the final piece without it. I want to encourage you to not only get that first draft pounded out, but also to see it through to completion.

I plan to publish an article under this category every other Friday, starting on September 5th and going through the end of the year. I hope it will encourage you in your writing and spur you on to keep going!

Fighting with you,
Kristen

“We are all apprentices in a craft where no one ever becomes a master.”
—Ernest Hemingway

2 thoughts on “First draft: intro

  1. This sounds great, Kristin! Looking forward to hearing some advice and encouragement. I would call myself an “underground” writer. God has told me to write and so I do, but I struggle with publishing on a blog due to fear of critiscm or saying something that could hurt someone else… Does that make sense? You can check our my writing at my blog, while I haven’t posted in months I have been writing and keeping it saved on my computer. I would love some advice on pushing through my fears of other people’a opinions! Thanks!

    Like

    1. Deut6family,

      I can totally relate to your fear! I would encourage you to post some of the things you’ve been saving. It looks like you haven’t posted anything since December, is that right? I think as long as your are not TRYING to be confrontational or harsh, odds are you are going to be fine. But, If you do get criticism, see if you can learn from it. If not, dismiss it. And If you genuinely hurt someone, contact them and learn from it.

      Those fears are legit, but shouldn’t hold you back!

      Id challenge you to post one of those things you’ve written and face that fear. :) Let me know when you do!

      Hope this helps!

      Kristen

      Like

Leave a Reply

